Overnight at Haneda Aiport – Tokyo – Japan for a budget traveler

Have you ever imagined sleeping at the airport…?!!  yup that’s what happened to me. Even though it has been planned beforehand.

Generally, international flight to Japan would be arrived to Haneda Airport almost at the midnight time which means there no more train or bus to Tokyo and of course no budget for TAXI, specially for a budget traveler like me…hehehe…

So, how does it feel sleepover at Haneda Aiport ..?!! Well.. for me it doesn`t matter at all, it`s not a big deal since I ever slept in many worst places than this superb clean and silent place, it`s a huge place to sleep after all..hahahaha

By the way here some stuffs that might be help you to feel more comfort at Haneda Airport in Japan.

1. Empty  and soft chair to laying down exhausted body after a very long flight to travel from Indonesia to Japan

Surely there are so many empty chairs you can use to lay down for a couple hours before the first train come. Here is the proof, this friend of mine directly sleeping just a couple minutes after we arriving in this place. Nice…!!!

haneda airport tokyo japan travel 1

It`s a relief after sitted for about 8 hours from Bali to Kuala Lumpur  to Haneda Airport, what I really need is  just to laying down my body on a bed since this bed seems so far away from me so the only choice is to laying it down on the sofa..sigh..but it`s ok than nothing… the risk as a budget traveler guys…

After take a deep breath, I realize that the lounge is warm enough for me, very spacious, clean and too quite for this huge lounge. Maybe it`s because of the culture as well, I heard that it`s a big No No to speak loudly or laughing hard here in this country and of course it`s already midnight after all xixixi..everyone must be very tired and need a break for a while.

2. Excellent public facilities especially for traveler from a very far country from Japan

Thsese facilities such as toilet, internet connection, food arcade, transportation.

  • TOILET

We can find so many public facilities and they maintain it very well, such as the toilet are very clean, dry, good smell and too modern if I compare with Indonesia..upss…

To be honest since the beginning I was very curious with so many kinds of equipments in the Japan`s toilet. I read a lot about this. So many interest things here such as the warm seater at the toilet and also so many kind of button with a different function of course.

haneda airport tokyo japan travel 2

I really appreciate the efforts of the Japan`s government, they give a good attention to fulfill the needs of their people, including the special need for some people with a special needs such as a special room for a wheelchair users, as well as a special equipment for mothers with a baby. Cool…!!!

  • WIFI

Well..we couldn`t pass it up..

Once I got a convenient place, the next thing I really want to do when travel in Japan is trying the speed for the internet. This is Japan with the high technologies things, am I right?!!

And what I got is, we can use the WIFI for free, smooth connection but not as quickly as I imagined before. Sigh again, especially for my notebook, the connection is really not  good. I got a word from my friend who stay in Tokyo – Japan that the internet connection definitely fast just like a jet..wus..wus..wus… hahaha.. I think there`s nothing incorrect here, since I`m using the public facility for free. So that words might be right “you got what you pay dude…!!!”.

  • CAFÉ Vs VANDING MACHINE

Some café open for 24 hours which serves many varieties of Japanese food such as sushi, rice, ramen, coffee, etc . But if you want to buy some drink for a cheap price you can get it from the vanding machine. The price around 100 Yen, 150 yen and also some items up to 300 yen. This is cheap, isn`t it?

  • TRANSPORTATION

This would be the most important thing I need early in the morning. Since the train will start from 5am so I had so many times to take a rest. The access to the subway or monorail stations are in the lounge area.

All the instructions displayed very clearly, so no need to feel worry about it. Or if you had something in mind the officer will helping you to find what you want in a very nice smile, since they can`t speak English very well and a bit difficult to understand the pronunciation.  At least they are very friendly and not stingy with the  informations.

I found this situation in all around Japan, so I just need to be focus on the itinerary I`ve made before, sure it really helping me to enjoy my travel advanture in Japan. It`s a wonderful trip after all.

Yokoso Japan minnasan…!!!

-Erbina Barus-

Related post read here:

4 Comments

Filed under Japan, popular, Travel

4 responses to “Overnight at Haneda Aiport – Tokyo – Japan for a budget traveler

  1. Panji Anom A

    mba, terima kasih banyak buat share-nya. Boleh tanya apakah mba Erbina tidur setelah atau sebelum pemeriksaan imigrasi yah?
    apakah diperbolehkan “menginap” sebelum pemeriksaan imigrasi? Pengalaman saya di Changi Airport itu fasilitas di airside jauh lebih baik dibandingkan di landside. Sekali lagi terima kasih.

  2. adhit

    halo mba, terima kasih buat infonya.
    sy ada rencana overnight di haneda dlm perjalanan LAX-CGK. kira2 saya butuh visa jepang ga ya mba? walaupun ngga keluar dr airport.

  3. Hi…hi..hi…. mba, ini berguna banget buat aq…. rencananya jg mau tidur di Haneda 🙂

Leave a comment